2011 Video review

When I first started this blog earlier this year, the main aim was to have an online record of my hill days that I could share with my children and friends and reminisce over when Im old and grey! I mainly used Walkhighlands website in the past for compiling trip reports into the hills, but wanted a more stylish and personal log of my adventures. Somehow the initial aim has been sidetracked somewhat, mainly due to severe lack of time, so here I present a short video containing a collection of images from this past years trips to the hills.

PS – How many hills can you name? 🙂

stats for the year;

33 Grahams
2 Corbetts
1 Munro

Distance walked 528km
Ascent – 75,765 ft

38 thoughts on “2011 Video review

  1. can’t view the video at the moment but 36 hills in total is quite a good ‘haul’. well done. I’d be interested in joining you on some walks next year when you’re in my neck of the woods 🙂 have a good new year David Seoras!

  2. I feel ashamed that i cannot recognize any of those hills, however when i go walking with the family or for DofE we only go to the peak district, your photos look like there in the wild country which unfortunately I’ve never been. Some Great Photos David!

  3. Thanks very much Oliver! I wouldn’t be ashamed about not recognizing any of the hills. I think even some of the more accomplished walkers would struggle to name more than 5! I do tend to concentrate more on the lesser known hills though which reward me with great tracts of unpathed wilderness.
    Have a good New Year

  4. Many thanks Dave…. from reviewing the photos, it appears to be a fine year indeed. I wonder then that my abiding memory is of so much rain. 🙂
    here’s to the next year indeed…

    BTW I thought I had previously bookmarked your blog, but can’t find a trace of it. May have to go back to Google-reader. I wonder if Im missing any other blogs which I thought I had subscribed to.

  5. Beautiful scenery David, also the many lovely wildflowers and wildlife. Oh how I wish I could go with you on some of your wanders 🙂 Maybe we’ll do some low level trails next year? Happy New Year x
    ps what music did you use on the video, I love it 🙂

  6. Wonderful sequence – although it went by too fast to be able to drink it in 😉 It certainly looks like you got oot ‘n’ aboot a lot more that the blog had lead us to believe. Couldn’t name that many hills although Stac Pollaidh seemed to feature a lot. I’ve not many regrets this year but not getting up to the Assynt was one of them. All the best for 2012

    • Thanks Alastair, Getting to Assynt must be a resolution for you this year then. I did get the time to get out a fair bit this past year although I can’t seem to find the time to keep the blog up to date with trip reports. This video was a good compromise I think. Will slow the next one down a bit though…

  7. tHANK YOU DAVID..YOUR TIMING IS EXCELLENT! ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL FOR ME TO WATCH WHILE i AM HERE IN NEW ZEALAND AT EXACTLY THE BEGINNING OF 2012! HAPPY NEW YEAR DAVID! I hope you manage to do more wonderful walks this year. And I agree with Alastair and think for next year you should adjust the time for each photo to be a little longer so that we can go for a wee walk with you in each photo, if you understand what I mean. Yes the video will be longer but for those of us who enjoy your walks we will be prepared for that! Loved the music too!!

    • Thanks Alan. One of my main concerns was if the video was too long, then it wouldn’t be watched. I know Im guilty myself of having a few videos in a “to be watched sometime in the future when I have the time (but realistically may never get around to)” folder, but based on the feedback received, I will amend this for any future videos.

  8. Hi David, I posted at 6.14 on 31st Dec, just before Alistair but I didn’t realise it’d be anonymous, sorry
    It’s from mam 🙂

  9. Cracking stuff. Everest from sea level two and a half times. Not to be sniffed at. Can I name 5? Hmmmm – I might let Andy do the showing off, he’s much better at that sort of thing than me.

    • lol, thanks Mark. The height was recorded in metres but it didn’t sound near as impressive as converting it to feet. And yeah, I have used the Everest comparison myself… 🙂

  10. Thanks, David, for visiting my blog! And thanks for this set of photos, I really enjoyed it. Happy new year to you, I hope you manage to do more wonderful walks this year. Your blog will be closely monitored by me 🙂

  11. Fantastic range of photos David. 😀

    Each time a hill came up I went….”I think I know that one…just a minute!”…and the slide changed 😦 😉

    (Great lookin’ slug btw 😆 )

  12. Stunning collection David, really enjoyed that. I think I recognised a few. I need to pause on several to confirm. Love playing “name that hill” 🙂

    The wildlife photos were stunning especially the one of a newt or lizard catching an insect – how the hell did you manage to capture that. The one’s of your trip to Ben Mor Coigach and the fiery sunset were also stand-out

    What was the music by the way, always on the look out for some chilled mood music to accompany my slideshows

    • cheers Andy. Capturing the newt/moth battle was surprisingly easy. It was taking place right next to the bank as I leaned over to top up my travel tap. The newt didn’t seem disturbed by my presence at all.

      The music is by the Italian composer and pianist – Ludovico Einaudi. Probably my favourite artist

Leave a Reply

